logo lg

e664de57 b7f5 4171 9389 4f502c9be072 

Zakat, a vital pillar of Islam, is a means of purifying ones wealth for the purpose of ensuring the needs of the poor are taken care of. Who deserves to receive your zakat? Zakat can be paid to the following who fall into one or more of eight zakatable categories designated by God in the Quran (9:60).

1. The poor

2. The needy

3. Collectors of Zakat (i.e. GiveLight Foundation)

4. Those whose hearts are to be reconciled (i.e. new Muslims and friends of the Muslim community)

5. Those in bondage (i.e. slaves and captives)

6. The debt-ridden

7. In the cause of God

8. The wayfarer, meaning those who are stranded or traveling with few resources.

All zakat given to GiveLight will be directed towards four major categories: food, clothing and shoes, books, medical needs and other areas considered as a transfer of wealth such as pocket money and savings.